Celebrating the ICC Champions Trophy 2017

Google Celebrating the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 in DoodleThe 2017 ICC Champions Trophy is the 8th ICC Champions Trophy, a One Day International (ODI) cricket tournament. It is currently being held in England and Wales between 1 and 18 June 2017. The top eight teams in the ICC ODI Championship rankings as on 30 September 2015 qualified for the tournament, for which they were divided into two groups of four.

Bangladesh replaced the West Indies, who finished outside the top eight in ninth position, in the ICC ODI Team Rankings on the cut-off date. Bangladesh returned to the ICC Champions Trophy for the first time since 2006, and, for the first time, the West Indies failed to qualify. Security around the tournament was increased following the Ariana Grande concert attack in Manchester, just before the start of the competition. The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced that they would review security concerns. - ICC 2017 Women's Cricket World Cup Begins!

Google Celebrating the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 in DoodleThe eight participating teams were required to announce a 15-member squad for the tournament on or before 25 April 2017. Teams can make changes to their originally named squads up to 25 May 2017, after which date changes will only be accepted on medical grounds, subject to approval. India did not announce their squad by 25 April deadline due to what it described as "operational" reasons, although this was widely seen as a protest by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in an ongoing disagreement with the ICC over finance and governance.

The BCCI were scheduled to announce the squad for India after the ICC board meeting on 27 April 2017. However, on 4 May 2017, after no team had been named, the committee of administrators told the BCCI to select their squad immediately. The BCCI undertook a special general meeting on 7 May 2017 to determine what course of action they would take. The outcome of that meeting was that India would take part in the tournament,[12] and the squad was named on 8 May 2017. On 10 May 2017, the ICC confirmed all the squads for the tournament, with Pakistan's Shoaib Malik playing in his sixth consecutive Champions Trophy. - ICC 2017 Women's Cricket World Cup Begins!

Google Celebrating the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 in DoodleIn a media release before the commencement of the tournament, the ICC stated that live broadcast would be made available in "more than 200 territories, across five continents" anticipating a global reach of 2.1 billion, while foreseeing more than 100 million views for its digital clips covering 180 countries. The release added that the tournament's broadcast would reach China, South Korea, Thailand and Indonesia for the first time, via Fox Networks Group.

On 12 April 2017, 50 days before the tournament's first match, the ICC announced eight former cricketers as the tournament's ambassadors from the eight competing countries. They were Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Habibul Bashar (Bangladesh), Ian Bell (England), Shane Bond (New Zealand), Mike Hussey (Australia), Harbhajan Singh (India), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) and Graeme Smith (South Africa). - ICC 2017 Women's Cricket World Cup Begins!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...